View of Washington Square Park from the south towards the fountain and arch

Overview of Teaching Awards

The Center for Faculty Advancement (CFA) sponsors and promotes several awards in recognition of outstanding teaching accomplishments. As part of its goals to recognize career milestones, advance student learning and engagement, and impact diverse communities, within and outside the academy, CFA is pleased to support the following awards.

Distinguished Teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) highlights New York University’s commitment to teaching excellence and is given annually to selected outstanding members of the faculty. Recipients are also awarded a research stipend. Each year, students, faculty, administrators, staff, and alumni are invited to submit nominations to their school’s DTA representative. Final nominations are considered and selected by the NYU All-University Selection Committee. Awardees are announced during the spring semester. 

Learn more about DTA including the current year’s recipients, Q&A videos with awardees, and criteria for selection.

Teaching Advancement Grant

A professor at a whiteboard teaching a small group of seated students

The Teaching Advancement Grant (TAG) aims to develop innovative curricular programs and projects at New York University, including new academic courses and programs, enhanced and expanded existing courses or programs, and special projects. TAG’s innovative collaboration model will impact classrooms across NYU (and potentially other universities) by developing measurable, evidence-based, and effective classroom practices capable of improving student learning in a variety of contexts.

Learn more about TAG including recent awardees and their projects, submission criteria, and guidelines.

James Weldon Johnson Professorship

James Weldon Johnson using an old-timey telephone

James Weldon Johnson and Grace Nail Johnson Papers; Yale Collection of American Lit­er­a­ture Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

James Weldon Johnson was NYU’s first Black professor, but he is notable for so many other accomplishments including civil rights activist, writer, composer, politician, educator, lawyer, and one of the leading figures in the creation and development of the Harlem Renaissance. In his honor, and to recognize scholarship with far-reaching impact in the areas of social justice, inequality, criminal justice reform, and related topics, the University established the James Weldon Johnson Professorship in 2020. The Professorship offers $25,000 per year for three years in research support. James Weldon Johnson Professors are selected by a distinguished committee and are chosen for the positive impact of their work on society.

Learn more about the James Weldon Johnson Professorship including recent awardees and their projects.

Jacob Javits Professorship

Jacob K. Javits

The Jacob K. Javits Professorship at NYU honors the memory and accomplishments of the four-term US Republican Senator and alumnus of the NYU School of Law, the late Honorable Jacob K. Javits. Established in 2008, with generous support from The Marian B. and Jacob K. Javits Foundation, the Professorship perpetuates the values and intellectual integrity of the Senator, and is awarded to a distinguished individual who shares those values as an academic, lawyer, policymaker, journalist, historian, philosopher, or former elected official. Their work may focus on an issue close to Senator Javits’s interests including: health, civil rights, labor, foreign policy, rights of individuals with disabilities, education, and fairness in employment and economic security for working Americans.​​​

Learn more about the Jacob Javits Professorship including recent awardees and their projects.